slcollectors shop History of Coinage and Paper Currency of Malaya and British Borneo(1952-1962) « (G) Malaya & British Borneo(1952-1963) « Malaysia Coins « Coins Section « SL Collectors Coin Blog

History of Coinage and Paper Currency of Malaya and British Borneo(1952-1962)

Refer earlier to the history of coinage and paper currency of Malaya.

The Board of Commissioners of Currency, Malaya and British Borneo issued the coinage of Malaya and British Borneo. These coins were used by British North Borneo(inclusive of Labuan),Sarawak, Malaya and Singapore.

The Federation of Malaya became an independent nation on 31st August 1957. The Bank Negara Tanah Melayu was established in January 1959 with the sole right of issuing coins and bank notes in Malaya which was however temporarily suspended to avoid any misunderstanding with Singapore and the Borneo Territories.

The coinage for Malaya an British Borneo bears the effigy of  Queen Elizabeth II.

The coins were minted at the following mints:

  • The Royal Mint London-no mintmark
  • King’s Norton Metal Co., Birmingham England- KN mintmark
  • The Mint, Birmingham Ltd., England-H mintmark.

Note the following DIE VARIETIES in the coins of:

  • 50 cents 1954,1958 and 1961 which are WITHOUT ANY SECURITY EDGE ( freaks) – more expensive than one with security edge

Note that the following has PROOF coins issued as silver proofs in Royal Mint case:-

  • 5 cents 1953,
  • 10 cents 1953;
  • 20 cents 1954;
  • 50 cents 1954

There were only 4 sets known to have been struck in silver as Proofs for presentation purposes.

Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed.

Monitored by Pingdom
WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera

Free SEO Tools

Search Engine